Babcock House has a long, rich history of tradition and leadership development at UW-Madison. Babcock House began in 1931 when Dr. Stephen M. Babcock died and left his house to the University. It was to be used as a place for deserving, needy, male students to call home while enrolled in the College of Agriculture. Today, there are 22 men and women residents from all income levels. Most are enrolled in the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences along with other colleges within UW-Madison. The house is operated and maintained cooperatively by the students themselves. The Board of Directors (composed of a faculty advisor, alumni, and student members of Babcock House) acts as the legal, nonprofit corporation holding title to the property.
Click here for a pdf that briefly describes the history of Stephen M. Babcock and Babcock House.